and still you wonder at it all …

April 16, 2007

A Happy Ending, Off Broadway

Filed under: Uncategorized — by moonshot @ 5:23 pm

A Conneticut high school canceled a play students were preparing that focused on the Iraq War, but instead of litigation and protesting, this situation has turned out well for the students involved. Even though their play was censured, they have been offered a surplus of venues in which to perform, including the Public Theater in New York and the Culture Project, “which is known for staging politically provocative work.” I read about this incident in an article titled “Canceled by Principal, Student Play Heads to Off Broadway” by Alison Leigh Cowan on the NY Times website.

Apparently the play is

“a series of monologues mainly from soldiers titled “Voices in Conflict””

The school principal gives his reasons for canceling the play :

“the school principal, Timothy H. Canty, cited concerns about political balance, sourcing, and the possibility of hurting Wilton residents “who had lost loved ones or who had individuals serving.””

An interesting change from the English related incidents I have previously discussed, I thought that the controversy surrounding this play and its cancellation has turned out well. I would even dare to call it an optimal situation. Having absolutely no knowledge of the contents of the play, I respect the principal’s decision because he gives clear, rational reasons for not allowing the play to be performed on school grounds. Considering the polarizing nature of the Iraq War, if the play did not walk a very fine line just  right, I could see how it could be possibly quite offensive. Apparently,

“The students were also awarded a “Courage in Theater” award last month for their “non-performance” from Music Theater International, a New York agency that licenses many high school productions”

And,

“Martin Garbus, a First Amendment lawyer who has been working pro bono with Ms. Dickinson [the theater teacher] and several parents of cast members said yesterday that schools are allowed to regulate speech that has the potential to disrupt learning.”

I am glad that I have finally found  a case in which I agree with the principal and think that everyone concerned has handled the issue appropriately, so that I won’t sound like such a broken record in my postings. Why do I make such an exception in this case? Well, the principal did not punish either the students or the teacher for trying to go forward with the play. The principal also explained his position and reasons, which were valid (an evaluation I might disagree with if I was more familiar with the contents of the play). The students and teacher, though they have been in contact with a lawyer, have accepted the principal’s ruling without letting it stop them from performing a play they evidently feel is important. They have found another, off school grounds, way to bring the play to the public. This is excellent. There are rules out of necessity that inhibit a person’s freedom of speech, especially in a school, but that does not mean that there aren’t other ways to voice your opinions. The principal has not condemned their decision to continue with the play; he only had an exception with it being held at school. This all makes me very happy.

 On a sadder note, many many families and friends are grieving today because of the shooting that took place on Virginia Tech’s campus, in which many lives were lost. My heart goes out to all concerned. Talking about censure, I am curious how the fact that many students and faculty found out about the first shooting two hours later by email just in time for the second shooting to take place will influence the investigation and whether there will be new regulations regarding the proper protocol in similar emergencies.

“Canceled by Principal, Student Play Heads to Off Broadway.” by Alison Leigh Cowan. April 12, 2007. The New York Times. Read full article.

4 Comments »

  1. I actually got this article in my inbox as well, and almost wrote on it. I have a very similar reaction to yours about the situaiton. I thought it was all handled quite well. When I read the headline and the first few sentences of the article I thought I was going to end up very angry at the school and the principle, but the exact opposite happened. I think they took everyone’s feelings and opinions into account and made a decision accordingly (a correct one). It does not happen very often in schools that something controversial gets to be performed, but this decision is usually made in haste out of fear, anger or irrationality. This time, however, I feel the decsion was well thought out. The article didn’t seem to suggest that there was any ill will between the students and the principal and I think any situation like this one that ends like that is a positive one. I give everyone involved in this situation my respect for handling it with such maturity.

    Comment by hannah8 — April 16, 2007 @ 5:55 pm |Reply

  2. I was also impressed by the way that the principal and everyone involved handled the situation. I think that the principal’s reasons for canceling the play (on the school grounds) were clear and reasonable. I sympathize with his idea that the play could potentially cause suffering to those who have lost family in the war or those that currently have loved ones over seas. I tried to find the script online, but unfortunately the website hosting it said it was temporarily unavailable. I wanted to see the contents of the play myself for some of the same reasons you did, but I would be cautious of presupposing that it would disprove my evaluations of the school’s decision. I am glad that the students still had an opportunity to perform the play since it obviously has the potential to have a powerful impact.

    Comment by mishlela1 — April 17, 2007 @ 11:05 am |Reply

  3. […] Bethany […]

    Pingback by Comments « The Flip Side — April 17, 2007 @ 11:40 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.